Book Review: Game of Thrones by George RR Martin

10888677

Game of Thrones by George RR Martin, Media Tie-in, 1st March 2011, 806p.

Overall Enjoyment Rating: 7 golden stars out of 10

Summers span decades. Winter can last a lifetime. And the struggle for the Iron Throne has begun. It will stretch from the south, where heat breeds plot, lusts and intrigues; to the vast and savage eastern lands; all the way to the frozen north, where an 800-foot wall of ice protects the kingdom from the dark forces that lie beyond.

The Game of Thrones. You win, or you die.

Book one of A Song of Ice and Fire begins the greatest fantasy epic of the modern age – Shamelessly stolen from Goodreads

I’m certainly late to the party when it comes to Game of Thrones. I have put off reading this book for a long time, convinced that it just ‘wasn’t for me.’ Eventually a friend of mine, Emily, brought over a bottle of vodka and the TV series and we watched a couple of episodes. Usually I read a book before I watch the visual, but she knew I just never was going to read it. I was hooked, I loved the first few episodes and when she left (with the rest of the TV show, sigh) I picked up the book and started reading. Usually I read about 200 pages a day, so I was expecting to read this book in 4 days, but instead I found I stretched it over two weeks! But it was an enjoyable process, and I loved the journey that Martin took me on.

The world that George RR Martin has created is amazing, so epic in proportion and detailed that I struggle to remember everything while I was reading. I was constantly flicking to the maps and to the indexes of the characters just so I could work out who was who, so thank god that they were included. Usually this annoys me, I prefer a couple of strong characters with a clear and fast moving plot, but the characters were still strong, there were just many of them! I loved Arya Stark and Jon Snow, Tyrion Lannister and Barristan Selmy…

I fell in love with some of the settings, especially Winterfell, The Eyrie and Castle Black. I did find some of the longer winded sections to be boring, and there were a few times I thought a storyline could be trimmed of some excess fat, but who knows, maybe they will become more interesting in the coming installments.

I’m going to have to hunt down the other books in this series, because winter is coming, you know? (okay, it’s already here.)

2 comments

  1. I loved the Eyrie! I was a bit sad how they portrayed it in the TV series, it didn’t look nearly as grand as I was imagining it. Most people find the other books more enjoyable and fast-paced, so that’s something to look forward to (:

    1. I agree with you, the Eyrie was so much more amazing and grand in the book – although it was still interesting seeing how they portrayed it. I have the second book waiting for me at the library – so I’m looking forward to digging in!

Leave a Reply

