Book Review: I am Zlatan Ibrahimović by Zlatan Ibrahimović

18469883

I am Zlatan Ibrahimovic by Zlatan Ibrahimovic, David Lagercrantz, and Ruth Urbom. Paperback, 2011, 352p.

I am a fan of soccer (football, depending on where you hail), and although I don’t usually read auto/biographies of sports people, I decided to make an exception for Zlatan. I’m sure Zlatan is currently saying something along the lines of I should feel privileged to read his life story. I purchased this book during the 2014 World Cup – because I didn’t get to see Ibra play, and it has sat on my bookshelf for quite a long period of time since.
I did enjoy the book, but I didn’t LOVE it. There were some funny parts where Zlatan talks about his life and how he became as infamous as he has. His reaction to his own comments is telling – simply that he opened his mouth and said something honest but unexpected – like he constantly puts his foot in his mouth. To be honest, I think it is part of his personality and part of his promotional campaign.

Zlatan is very cocky, and his self-assuredness is very interesting to read. His reaction to his team winning is generally that he won the game for them, and his reaction to the team losing is that they benched him/were mean to him/neglected to breastfeed him. Don’t get me wrong, Zlatan is an amazing player, and his goals (watch this for a nice selection) speak for themselves, the man has serious talent. And a lot of anger. I’ve always thought that he looks really angry and mad when he is playing well, and this book confirmed to me that when he plays the best, he is usually full of anger.

5 of my favourite Zlatanisms:

1 – “First I went left, he did too. Then I went right, and he did too. Then I went left again, and he went to buy a hot dog.”

2 – Reporter: “You’ve got some scars on your face, Zlatan. What has happened?”

Zlatan: “Well…I don’t know…you’ll have to ask your wife about that”

3 – When asked what he brought his wife for her birthday: ”Nothing, she already has Zlatan.”

4 – “We are looking for an apartment (in Paris), if we do not find anything, then we will just buy a hotel.”

5 – “One thing is for sure, a World Cup without me is nothing to watch so it is not worthwhile to wait for the World Cup.”
I might pick up another Zlatan Ibrahimovic biography, and see what someone has to say about this man from a more objective point of view.

2 comments

  1. I’m glad the cover indicated that he is a footballer because otherwise I wouldn’t have had a clue who this guy is. I’m sure he will be astounded to think he is not as famous as he imagines.

    1. I’ve never read a book about someone so self obsessed, he would be horrified if he ever realised that there were people not familiar with his name. This book review gets more views than any other, but mostly from search engines and never any comments – I like to think it is Zlatan reading about himself, multiple times a day.

Leave a Reply

