Review: The Ranger, The Lost Ones and The Broken Places by Ace Atkins

10410038

The Ranger by Ace Atkins, kindle edition, 2011, 334p

The Lost Ones by Ace Atkins, kindle edition, 2012, 352p

The Broken Places by Ace Atkins, hardback, 2013, 368p

Ace Atkins is a new addition to the list of authors I can turn to when I want an edge of my seat, heart in my throat thrill fest. I knocked off the first three books in this series in a week, and am now waiting anxiously for the fourth book from the library – damn waiting lists.

The plot in The Ranger is an old tried and tested sequence, one that is very comfortable to a reader of thrillers. The simple plot just allows the characters to take centre stage, and the characters are sensational. They are real people, I swear it. I love Quinn’s family and his friend, Boom. For me, however, the best character was Lillie. She is one mad but awesome chick. I also like the fact that Atkins writes her with respect, she is not wall-flower who needs protecting from every person who talks to her, nor is she portrayed as being a man – she is definitely all woman.

I can’t wait for the next book in this series to be released, but it just means I’ve started another series, without finishing one of my older ones!  I like to imagine that one day I will follow over 50 awesome series, and each week I will just read the latest book in a series I love. At the same time, I imagine that as being a horrible senario, because I have the world’s worst memory, and I wouldn’t be able to keep up.

Just wondering… how many series do you guys all follow, and are up to date with? I think my number is about 6, and I think that is pretty low for someone who reads genre fiction.

6 comments

  1. I have no idea how many series I have started/finished but I try my best to pick up the latest ones. It’s the series which have already been completed that I can’t remember to finish. 🙂

    1. It’s true that when new releases are still coming out it jogs your memory and excites you to read more. One of my main goals this year is to get up to date in a few current series.

  2. I can handle multiple series at the same time, although back in the days when I had access to libraries in the UK, I used to get a little obsessive about reading all the available books in one series (wolfing them down would be a more accurate description).
    I met Ace Atkins at a crime festival in Lyon, and he was lovely, witty and so erudite about music, especially blues and country and jazz.

Leave a Reply

