The Classics Booktag

I’ve seen a couple of wonderful blogs doing The Classics Booktag and I thought I better jump in and put my own two cents in! I’d seriously recommend checking out Bellarah’s tag that I shamelessly stole this from!

1. An overhyped classic you really didn’t like:
Pride and Prejudice by Austen. It’s a load of cow crap, book-ified. I’ve had to read it twice for uni, and hated it the first time, considered book burning the second! To be honest, I didn’t even bother finishing it the second time, just relied on the residual hate from the first reading carry me through.
TiXjW4d
2. Favorite time period to read about:
Any book set between July 1914 to November 1918, September 1939 to September 1945, November 1955 to April 1975 and August 1990 to February 1991. More a theme than a period, possibly. But maybe we could say 20th Century?
3. Favorite fairy-tale:
Probably Alice in Wonderland, being that it is the only one I have read.
4. What is the most embarrassed classic you haven’t read yet:
Classic – Ulysses. Modern Classic – Lolita.
5. Top 5 classics you would like to read (soon):
The Picture of Dorian Gray
Ulysses
The Secret Agent
Jane Eyre
Heart of Darkness
6. Favorite modern book/series based on a classic:
Neil Gaiman’s The Graveyard Book.
7. Favorite movie version/tv-series based on a classic:
CLUELESS! It’s based on Emma by Jane Austen. My mind was blown when a uni course made that connection for me.
200_ssdsf
8. Worst classic to movie adaptation:
My Brilliant Career by Miles Franklin. SUCH A GREAT BOOK, ruined by a horrible movie. It included a 3 minute pillow fight between two characters, that never happened in the book! They also cut  out nearly all of the good stuff, so you hardly realise that Syb is a writer!
My_Brilliant_Career_FilmPoster
9. Favorite edition(s) you’d like to collect more classics from:
I’m currently working on collecting more from The Popular Penguins which are awesomely orange, and one day I will have to buy myself a beautiful set of Harvard Classics… 51 old hardbacks… mmm.
10. An underhyped classic you’d recommend to everyone:
My Brilliant Career by Miles Franklin – I was suprised by how much I enjoyed it, it has quite a few similarities to Jane Eyre, but is set in Australia… and written by an Australian teenage girl many moons ago! PICK IT UP AND READ IT!

Leave a Reply

