Bout of Books Challenge: From Modern to Classic

Hi guys! Today’s challenge arrives a little late. Sorry about that, I can’t handle timezones! I hope you’re having a lovely readathon and getting in some quality reading. I’m delighted to be able to present today’s challenge, it is such an honour to contribute to one of the bookish events of the year!

Bout of Books

THE CHALLENGE Share one book that you believe will be considered a classic in 100 years time. Simple? I do have a few caveats, the book must have been published in or after 2005 and you need to provide two reasons for why this book will be a classic.

HOW TO ENTER You can enter this competition on any platform, including posts on your blog, on twitter, facebook, goodreads or in the comments of this blog post. Include a link to the entry in your comment. Also, make sure the post is public, so I can check out your awesome answers!

THE PRIZE

  • The winner of this challenge will recieve a book from bookdepository.com up to the value of US$15.
  • The challenge winner will be selected by random number generator and notified, so please include your email address, twitter handle or however you wish to be contacted in the comment!
  • You must be a Bout of Books participant to win the giveaway. So please include your Bout of Books signup number
  • Only one entry per participant will go into the draw, but if you wish to discuss multiple books that are classic, go ahead!

Onwards, bookish fiends!

 

THE CHALLENGE IS NOW OVER! NO NEW COMMENTS WILL BE APPROVED

135 comments

  1. I’m going to go with Nalini Singh’s Guild Hunter series because she has flowing writing style, she doesn’t put an accent on race as many other books and authors do and her take on that universe is just great 🙂
    1st book was published in 2009

    I’m no. 153(I think) Aly @ Aly’s Miscellany
    alinutza4u2004[at]yahoo[dot]co[dot]uk

    1. I haven’t read any of Singh’s works, but style and the way race is dealt with is very important! I hope these books are still being read in 100 years time! Thanks for participating in today’s challenge

  2. I’m number 163 (Jaclyn @ My Life as a Bookworm and my email address is Jac589@verizon.net)

    I picked Outlander by Diana Gabaldon

    1. It has its own TV show which entices people to read more and OMG Jamie is so hot!
    2. It’s a timeless classic where a woman travels in time and falls in love again but has so many obstacles to get around. I believe that its a story that will always reach across time.

    Great challenge! Check out my blog post and BOB update! https://bookwormgirl513.wordpress.com/2015/05/14/bout-of-book-challenge-4-and-update/

    1. TFioS seems to be the John Green everyone is putting forth, so nice to see another of his works instead! I haven’t read it, but from what I’ve heard it will probably be considered a classic in 100 years time. Thanks for sharing your pick!

  3. Here’s mine: http://www.cayt.com/challenge-bout…ks-13-thursday

    My choice is The Last Hour of Gann by R. Lee Smith. I think that this science-fiction book could easily become a classic in the genre. Firstly, it’s an epic book that takes place in a well fleshed-out world. It is on par with some of the best sci-fi books out there. Secondly, it deals with adult issues and is not light, fluffy or childish. I think it has a lasting impact that will make it a classic.

  4. I’m number 734 as Rayna @ Reader Rayna for bout of books.

    I think that The Mortal Instruments/The Infernal Devices series/trilogy will be classics in 100 years. Why? Well, this series, as a whole, has been beloved by many, many people since it has come out, and it’s been translated into more than 34 languages, meaning it’s sold worldwide. The fanbase is so huge that even though the movie for said books flopped, the people who hold the rights decided to make a TV show, and so far, there has been a lot of positive feedback about it. So not only are these BOOKS loved by many, but I’m sure the show will be, too, giving it a broad spectrum in media (book & television).

    1. I think the spread of the fanbase is important, and that there is so much interest in differen representations of this story in different media types does mean there is something different about The mortal Instruments series. I’d be interested to see if it has the staying power! Enjoy the rest of your bout of books, happy reading!

  5. I’m going to go with The Mistborn Trilogy by Brandon Sanderson. It’s a fantastic fantasy trilogy that could easily become the next century’s LOTR in my opinion.

    My Sign up is #340 – Rivalie @Forever Obsession

    1. Nice! Another trilogy that hasn’t been recommended heaps but has serious merit – although I’m sure there are people out there who will argue until blue in the face against any comparison with LOTR, I think it’s time that the Tolkien pedestal is brought down!

  6. Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows
    1) It’s the culmination of the entire series, everything has been leading up to this
    2) There is great victory but also great loss, the children we traveled with have grown up into young adults which is amazing.
    I’m #671 Katy @ Glorious Panic on the list and you can contact me @katymessier on twitter!

    1. Deathly Hallows is certainly a book that many people seem to advocate for, I think the whole series will be considered classics, people will read through them like people currently read through LOTR

  7. Here’s mine.

    Mine ended up being more of a “wow, I wish that they hadn’t made me read depressing books in high school, why couldn’t they have given me this instead?” thing.

    148. Kelly @ Wandering Through Books

  8. I’m number 331 as Raquel @ Hitzuji Books.

    A Song of Ice and Fire by George R.R. Martin is already becoming a classic of fantasy literature. The first twobooks were published before 2005, the third in 2005, but the last two books (A Feast for Crows and A Dance with Dragons) after that year, so I guess it counts. You can find it in many of the Best Fantasy Books lists, and with the TV show is getting even more popularity.

    In case it doesn’t count (because of the first three books), I have another option:
    Harry Potter series, as a classic of children literature. I mean, do I really have to explain it?

    1. I’ll accept the A Song of Ice and Fire’s last couple of books, for sure. I expected more people to have mentioned this series – it kinda had that.. not popular outside certain circles for many years, then blew up into a popular reading frenzy. I think this whole series will be read in many years to come. Thanks for participating and I hope you enjoy the rest of the readathon

  9. My boutofbooks sign-up number had been alternating between 13 and 14, so I’ll put them both down.

    My modern classic of choice is All the Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr.

    My first reason is fairly easy- it won, (as it absolutely deserved), the Pulitzer Prize. That tends to lend a hefty tome some longevity.

    My second reason is that it is a historical novel set in World War II, but unlike many books written of that period, it takes place primarily in France and Germany. It builds a puzzle piece by piece through alternating points of view as the story goes on. It’s complex, emotive, and real.

    1. I like your thinking of the Pulitzer Prize! So far no one else has mentioned prizes that a book has won, but I certainly think that winning the Pulitzer will mean it is picked up for many years into the future. It is a book on myTBR, just need to find time to get to it!

  10. The Help by Kathryn Stockett
    The author tackles the truth of a difficult time in American history with realism and humor. The writing is near perfection—switching between multiple POVs and dialects. It’s a book I hope becomes a classic so that people won’t forget the pain of racism as we move forward.

    The Fault in Our Stars by John Green
    This book perfectly portrays the horrible mix of feelings that kids with cancer experience on a day-to-day basis. It’s perfectly positioned to help kids explore their emotions and provides courageous characters that they can identify with. I’ve known quite a few (more than normal!) kids battling cancer, and this book is important because it gives their struggles and feelings a voice.

    1. I am a massive fan of The Help, and I agree with you about it tackling the truth of a difficult time in American history. I also think that ‘classics’ have shifted from coming from English authors to American authors, and American themes, and The Help is certainly fitting that bill. Nearly half of the people who completed this challenge agrees with you about TFioS, although I haven’t read it – so I have been refraining from judgement!
      Enjoy the remainder of the readathon, and thanks for sharing your picks with us.

  11. #521 Kimberley

    I picked “The Hunger Games” by Suzanne Collins

    1. Aw! You poor thing! I wish you a speedy recovery – and thanks for taking the time to complete the challenge. TFioS is such a popular choice, for obvious reasons! Hope you enjoy the rest of the readathon.

    1. I went and read your blog post, but to comment over there required me to log in using a google account – which I have for private purposes, so I’m sorry if you never see this comment! The Hunger Games seems to be the pick of the day – and there are so many reasons for that! I hope you enjoy what is remaining of the readathon and have a great time!

  12. My number is 517.
    I recently read The Road by Cormac McCarthy and I feel like it’ll definitely be a classic. It’s already won a Pulitzer and has been given high praises from critics. It’s written in such a raw manner that makes you feel what the characters are going through and you grow connected to them because you can relate to the struggle of life and despair and feeling completely hopeless but still surviving for the ones you love. McCarthy is a powerful writer who’s works will be studied by future generations.

    1. The Road is one of those books I had to check for when it was published – it’s just been talked about so much that I forgot it is a relatively new book! I think you hit the nail on the head with your reasons, I’m sure people will be arguing over this book for many years into the future. Also, Pulitzer… certainly helps keep it in peoples memories. Have a great readathon, and thanks for answering my challenge!

    1. The Book Thief is such a great book, and your video really does highlight your enjoyment of the book – and I really enjoyed watching your reasons for why this would be a classic. And I enjoyed the use of narator just as much as you did. Enjoy the rest of the readathon!

  13. A book I think will be considered a classic in the future is the Hunger Games. My thoughts on this book are slightly mixed and unpopular in that I liked it a lot, but it’s not on my favorites shelf or anything. However, the reasons I feel it will be a classic someday are:
    (1) I feel like it really started a movement. As I mention in my second reason, dystopian literature has become wildly popular and because of the Hunger Games, people are really starting to think. We are so drawn to the story because it’s futuristic and apocalyptic in a way that we can all see our world turning into one day. We are drawn to the story and read it because we want to see someone change it and make it better. We know a dystopian world is very well possible in the future, so we want to see a hero prevail through it. While old classic books like 1984 have similar themes, this is the one people will remember, because it made people aware and people who don’t normally read read the Hunger Games, whereas people who don’t read might have trouble with an older classic. The Hunger Games is easy to follow and fast to read. It keeps the attention of those who don’t normally read. So it’s started a movement.
    (2) While there were other popular dystopian books out there, this really got people on the bandwagon and started a new trend of dystopian literature and films. Because of the Hunger Games, more people are reading dystopian now.

    My number is #783 (but my number has changed from 786 to 783 since Monday, so my name on the list is Katie M if that makes a difference).

    1. Thanks for your answer Katie, I agree with you (and so do many others) that The Hunger Games will be considered a classic in the years to come. I welcome comparisons to books like 1984, I think they are apt. Enjoy what is remaining of the readathon!

    1. Thanks for participating- you aren’t eligible for the giveaway, but I’m glad you shared your pick anyway- The Book Thief is one of my all time favourite reads.

Leave a Reply

