Book Blogger Appreciation Week: Blogger Burnout

Day-OneIntroduce-yourself-17

I thought I would jump back in the Book Blogger Appreciation Week with day 5, which is a topic very dear to my burny heart – blogger burnout.

I’m going to keep this short, sharp and sweet. I haven’t really managed to counteract blogger burnout. I have noticed a pattern to my burnouts however – I get busy with work/school/uni and don’t have time to blog, and then I don’t come back once life gets easy again. It’s okay to get busy and devote less time to blogging – that’s healthy unless this is your job (and it definitely isn’t my job!). However, I need to find ways to come back when things get less busy. Otherwise Ranty Runt of a Reader will be that thing that I ‘used to do,’ and I enjoy blogging so much I don’t want to lose another hobby.

I’ve decided that I’m going to aim for one post a week while I am studying – and hopefully by not committing to more than I can handle I will still stay passionate about my blog. The other thing I want to remember is that I’ve made a commitment to quality over quantity. If I post one well written and considered review a month, that is better than ten rushed posts that don’t really speak to who I am and what I have been doing.

Also, I’m giving myself permission to not write posts for days 3 & 4 of the Book Blogger Appreciation Week – I’ve had a great week talking to my fellow bloggers, made so many new friends and been reinvigorated about my blogging.

I can’t think the wonderful bloggers over at The Estella Society for resurrecting BBAW for 2016, and I am looking forward to participating in this next year, hopefully with even more new bloggers!

4 comments

  1. Hi! I discovered your blog thanks to BBAW and it’s a great discovery! I’ve only been blogging for a few months, so haven’t had a massive burnout, but I’m sure it’ll come. I don’t think there’s any point in forcing myself to write, when I don’t feel like it I go over other blogs and usually find inspiration to keep me going 🙂

  2. Yep – I usually go AWOL around the same time every year (right about next month, actually). I’m going to try my hardest not to go missing this year though, even if it’s just one post a week. I’ll go back to my usual programming (going missing) next year 🙂

Leave a Reply

